A Year in Review, What Happened to My Purchased Website and Some Lessons Learned

A lot can happen in a year, and a lot can not happen in a year.

With 2012 just about over, it’s a great time to see what we’ve accomplished, but also what we’ve possibly fell short on. If you didn’t meet your goals or follow your plan exactly how you wished, that’s okay. Plans are just guesses, but as long as you keep learning and keep pushing forward, you’re doing good.

Here’s an overview of some of what happened in 2012, including what happened to that purchased website I kept talking about but never revealed (which I do below) and some lessons learned too:

Security Guard Training Headquarters

Although this niche site began in late 2010 as a simple challenge, it continues to grow and proves to be one of the most successful niche site case studies out there. Even two years later, people are still using the details in the case study to start their own sites and get results. In fact, this tweet just came in two days ago:

Although Google and its search engine are constantly changing and making SEO difficult to keep up with sometimes, the theme for what consistently will rank higher in the search engines (and what Google wants to see) is always the same - unique, high quality content, which is what the security guard training site is based off of.

This is why it has survived (and thrived) through all of Google’s recent algorithm changes, including Panda and Penguin. It makes sense because there is just no other site that has information as complete as this.

If you’re having trouble remembering how I got the information for this niche (since I’m not a security guard myself) here it is once again:

I picked up the phone, made some calls and asked a bunch of questions. That’s it. 

I think that’ll be a big theme in 2013 for myself as I create new businesses and for everyone else out there who wants to build an ultimate resource – you have to do whatever it takes to best serve a market in need.

Here is some interesting data about the site:

Income:

  • In 2011, the site grossed $14,247.24.
  • In 2012 (with 1 half-day left), the site grossed $25,218.15. (a 77% increase)
I did meet my 2012 goal of earning more than $3,000 from the site in a single month, and I’m hoping the upward trend continues in 2013.

Traffic:

  • In 2011, the site saw 152,092 total visits.
  • In 2012, the site saw 308,810 total visits. (a 103% increase)
Primary Keyword (security guard training)
  • In 2011, security guard training accounted for 32.88% of my total traffic.
  • In 2012, security guard training accounted for 10.28% of my total traffic.
Long Tail Keywords
  • In 2011, the site was found from 27,946 total keywords.
  • In 2012, the site was found from 59,861 total keywords. (a 114% increase)

The success and growth comes from the long tail. Although I saw an increase in rankings for all of my top keywords (see this), most of my traffic comes from the keywords that I didn’t purposely target. It happens as a result of just publishing more.

Some of the long-tail keywords that I’m being picked up for are from new articles that were published in 2012, and others are from articles that I published within the first few months of the site.

The big lesson is: just write more, and be patient, and if you haven’t started yet – get started already! It takes time for results to happen.

Other Forms of Monetization

Since 98% of the income from the site comes from Google Adsense, one of my goals was to expand outside of Adsense and diversify how income was being generated from the site, and I didn’t waste any time trying to figure it out.

In January of 2012, I started with private advertising. I did sell a number of advertising banner spots in the sidebar of the site, however the addition of those ads dramatically decreased my Adsense earnings and overall income generated from the site, so I ditched the private ads.

I then re-attempted CPA (cost-per-acquisition) offers for Criminal Justice degrees, the only CPA offer that seemed to align with the niche site, but after over 50,000 impressions, a 0.05% click through rate and no leads, I took down the banner ads and links that were promoting this offer.

Finally, with a couple of months left in the year I connected with a security guard training company in California that has an online training course. I convinced them to create an affiliate program so I could start promoting their course to my California visitors, and immediately I saw sales coming in. It’s nothing spectacular and relatively speaking it’s small change, but it’s an additional $100-$200 a month without affecting my overall income like the private ads did.

I’m happy that I’ve at least explored other monetization options, but I have yet to really find something as profitable as Adsense, which still scares me. I don’t want to just rely on that one source of income. I have more options to explore in 2013, which includes a directory, adding gear to the site and also some B2B services as well.

We’ll see what happens.

Niche Site Course

After the success of the niche site duel, even though I shared the entire process of building a site from scratch for free, people still wanted something more. They even told me they’d be willing to pay for it.

So, I started developing an online course. I spent each day for about 3 months creating high-quality video content and daily action items that would guide people towards a successful niche site and also hold people accountable for their actions.

About three weeks from launch I was putting the finishing touches on the course and even had a few beta testers going through the program for pre-launch feedback. Then, Google came out with their penguin update.

The update forced me to reassess the validity of my course and I had to make the decision to put it on hold until I could test the new search engine environment. While creating new sites and testing various strategies to go along with them, Google came out with even more updates and that’s when I decided to scrap the whole thing.

Although I was disappointed that months of work was all for nothing, I just simply cannot ask people to pay for a course that I’m not 100% confident in. Even today, after testing even more sites, the strategies I outlined and update do work, but only sometimes.

Sometimes isn’t good enough.

Money was left on the table, yes, but that’s okay. I’d much rather continue to build trust with my audience than try to earn a few (or a lot) of extra dollars from them up front.

Putting my audience’s interest ahead of everything else has always been my best strategy and will continue to be.

My New Book

Mid-year, I started working on my first book, Be Everywhere. To say that it’s been a challenge is a huge understatement – it’s been a war!

I say that because I’m battling a two things that are delaying completion of this project: time and myself.

Time is a factor because in order to write this book, I need large chunks of time which I do not have anymore since the birth of my daughter in September. I was 20,000 words into the book and had planned to finish it before she was born, but she came a month early and I haven’t added much to the book since.

It’s been one of my biggest disappointments of the year, but family will always come first and I’d much rather invest time with my daughter now while she’s young because she won’t be young for long. I can always continue to write the book later, and I will starting early next year.

The other factor is myself. When I actually had time to write, it was always a constant battle of “this isn’t good enough” and “it needs to be perfect”. Since this is my first book, I know those feelings are natural and I should follow my own advice and just write and forget about being perfect – but it’s hard.

Bird by Bird has been a huge help, as well as the wonderful and inspiring Facebook community I formed around my first book (which is 3000 people strong now!), but still – this isn’t like writing a blog post, which I’ve become very good at. It shouldn’t feel any different, but it is.

I hope to plow through the book in 2013.

The lesson here: nothing great comes easy, and if it’s a struggle to complete something it’s something probably worth completing.

My Other New “Book”

This might sound really weird, especially after I just wrote about how I wasn’t able to finish Be Everywhere yet, but I’ve recently started and completed the content for a second “book” already.

What?!

Okay – it’s not exactly a book, but it’s close. It’s actually called a Snippet and it’s a new publishing platform coming out early next year that combines a book and a blog to create short and enjoyable reading experiences. I was lucky enough to be contacted to be one of the first publishers to use the platform, and I have to say that I’m pretty excited!

Each chapter in a Snippet is a mandatory 1000 words or less, and it incorporates all types of multimedia, from high-quality images and slideshows, to audio files and video. There’s also the ability for developers to create specialized apps for this platform, allowing snippets to possibly include things like polls, Twitter hashtag streams and much more, right inside the content itself.

I wrote my Snippet in a week last month. For those of you who saw I’m Fine, Thanks and wanted more about my story, you’ll see more of it in the book.

Snippets are not yet available, but when they are you can be sure you’ll hear from me about it!

Will this take off? Who knows, but when opportunities present themselves to you sometimes it’s worth putting a little extra effort in to get things done.

#excited

My Purchased Website

At the beginning of the year I had planned to purchase a website, improve it and then see if I could turn it into a profitable addition to my passive income portfolio. A lot of you knew I purchased a website, however I never went into much detail about this project which I was hoping to share much like the niche site duel.

Unfortunately, things did not go as planned.

I did end up purchasing a website from Flippa.com, a golf website at http://www.beginnersgolftips.com.

I purchased the site for a total of $2750.00 (see auction page here), which was a gamble because the site had never been monetized before. That was my first mistake, although I was willing to take that risk.

The search engine traffic and keyword rankings were very attractive to me as it had been sitting in the top spots for some decently trafficked keywords for a very long period of time. It was showing similar numbers to that of my security guard training website, including cost-per-click in Adsense. Plus, I do golf myself so I could potentially create content on my own if I needed to, although the plan was to hire a golf writer to add content for me.

When I purchased the site, I was happy that the transaction went well. I hear horror stories of people getting scammed when transferring web property from one person to another. We used escrow.com to handle the payments to ensure that everything was legit.

After that, my first task was to convert it to a WordPress blog, which was an interesting experience. In order to do this and keep all of it’s ranking and traffic I had to manually create a secondary site and make sure all of the articles and link structures were the same. I could have made my VA do it, but I wanted to see what the process was like.

It wasn’t too difficult – it just took a long time because there were 60 articles on the site when I purchased it, all with links to deeper articles within the site that I had to make sure were still there when I flipped the switch to the new platform.

After the switch to WordPress (using the thesis theme) I let the site sit for a month because I wanted to see if that affected the traffic one way or another, and it did. I actually started to see a slight increase, which was pretty cool. I was getting about 150-170 unique visitors a day.

My next task was to keep everything and add Adsense on the site to monetize it. Immediately, the site started to make money – but not too much, only a few dollars a day.

I was able to move around the Adsense blocks and optimize the colors to the point where I was making up to $10.00 per day on Adsense. Remember, I did nothing to improve the site except move the site to WordPress, so $10/day is pretty good in my eyes, I could make up the cost of the site in less than a year at that rate.

Unfortunately, that didn’t last too long. A few months later and failed attempts to hire a golf writer, Google came out with an algorithm update that cut the traffic by 66%. That update appeared to be the EMD or Exact Match Domain algorithm update.

The results of this update were a little weird though and hard for me to understand. The site still ranks #1 for it’s primary keyword, beginner golf tips and #2 for golfing tips for beginners, but a lot of the terms that were more heavily searched for in Google that was driving traffic got hit, such as golf tips and golfing tips. Where I was at the bottom of the first page (and getting a lot of traffic), I was no longer within the first 100 results.

It probably didn’t help that the content had not been updated for a couple of years, although it is evergreen content related to golf.

As such, you can see what happened to my traffic around that time (in late September). You can click to enlarge if you wish:

With less traffic coming to the site, less people were there to potentially click ads and my revenue went from $6-10 per day, to $2-3 per day.

Here are my income results since starting this experiment:

That’s a total of $956.01.

The earnings are poor and it’s going to take me much longer to make up the cost. Part of the reason for the poor performance is Google’s algorithm update, but probably more so because I just haven’t put very much time into the site, and I probably did overpay for it.

Buying websites is tough business, and I’ve learned that if I ever do this again I will do my homework better and actually make sure I have a plan to put more time into the site.

All that said, it’s nice to finally share the results of what happened with you.

Things didn’t go according to plan, once again, but it was definitely a learning experience.

Are You Ready for 2013?

These are just some of the major things that happened in 2012, amongst a number of other things, big and small – wins and fails.

The best thing that happened in 2012?

Easily, the birth of my daughter. She’s reminded me, once again, about why I do what I do and what’s most important to me in my life, and for her and my family, and for you who I consider family as well, I will continue to push forward in my business in and do everything that I can to help you reach your goals in 2013.

I have some major plans for SPI next year. In case you missed it, check out what’s on deck by clicking here!

Thank you for an amazing 2012!

Happy New Year to you, be safe and here’s to a profitable and healthy 2013!

 

  • http://www.zzneo.pl Teresa

    Hi Pat,
    I would like to Thank You for an amazing 2012 – you and your whole story (how you had started online business) inspired me so much in 2012 that I created one blog. Now I’ve been working on 3 others blogs (one in English)- I will finish everything in few weeks’ time. And it’s all because I accidentaly came across your blog at the beginning of 2012.
    Best wishes to You and Your family.
    Teresa

    • Pat Flynn

      Thank you Teresa! Best wishes to you and your family as well, and I wish you much success in the upcoming year!

  • http://[email protected] Monty Campbell

    Greetings Pat,

    I appreciate this year end review because I relate to it. I relate to the struggle of perfection vs procrastination. I relate to the struggle of family vs life. I relate to the struggle of both planned goals and business learnings. The lesson we learn are usually more valuable in mistakes than in success.

    I appreciate seeing where you are dissapointed in your great year. You have been such a consistent great performer on an almost unreal level. Its been a great year for me too. In a significant way, I have you to thank for that.

    I know you will do well in 2013. I wish you, your family and the SPI community a happy, blessed and prosperous new year.

    Have a wonderful day see you in Vegas.

    • Pat Flynn

      Thanks Monty, I appreciate you and I’m looking forward to seeing you in Vegas in a week or so! Happy new year and we’ll talk soon!

  • http://www.pistolpay.com Jose

    We developed a service specifically for a secure way of transferring high value items-just like escrow.com but with verification. I highly suggest you, and anyone looking to make a transaction like the transfer of a web domain, check out our service. We work just like an escrow service but with 3rd party verification. Check out our quick vimeo vid to get a quick overview of it: http://vimeo.com/50763549

    PS: Love your site!

    • Pat Flynn

      Interesting, thanks Jose! Cheers, and Happy New Year!

  • http://www.BiggerPockets.com/renewsblog Brandon Turner

    Hey Pat, thanks for the update! Keep up the great work! I’m first in line to get your eBook when it comes out!

    • Pat Flynn

      Cheers Brandon and thank you! Wishing you all the best!

  • http://teeballbaseballblog.com Tom

    Pat,
    Thx to you I have continued to make updates, though not as spectacular as yours, to my blog. Just the time you take to blog about it and share your lessons learned is beyond what one word can say. Looking forward to see what 2013 brings.

    Happy New Year!
    Tom

    • Pat Flynn

      Happy New Year Tom! All the best to you and your site next year!

  • http://www.postfever.com/ Harneet Singh Bhalla

    Hi Pat.
    First things first, I wish you & your family a very happy new year. God bless you.

    The post was really interesting & motivating. I have just entered the field of affiliate & internet marketing and I have been able to get some awesome tips from your blog from the ‘getting started’ section as well.

    Thanks for creating all the awesome stuff.

    • http://howtocreateawebsiteonline.com Vince @ How to Create a Website Online

      I Agree Harneet! With the New Year brings some new hope!

      Pat shows us every year how he just keeps improving and improving! Incredible Job Pat!

      And Yes, thanks for creating all this awesome content.

  • http://www.void-life.com bryan

    Awesome Pat! Very Inspiring. I was considering purchasing a site and seeing if I could increase the revenue to it. But I want to have my own sites earning first.

    • http://howtocreateawebsiteonline.com Vince @ How to Create a Website Online

      Good Luck in your quest Bryan!

  • http://thehowtomakemoneyonlinemom.com Julie

    Thank you for well being you. I love your blog because you not only offer really good tips but you do it in a way that shows you really care. Looking forward to more from you in 2013.

    • http://howtocreateawebsiteonline.com Vince @ How to Create a Website Online

      Pat being so genuine about everything he has done from failing to succeeding is truly inspiring! I’m also looking forward to more in 2013!

  • http://www.cuadernodemando.com Manu

    Hi Pat,

    I’m glad you highlight the importance of high quality content. I also think you should put a little more focus on diversifying the sources of traffic. Traffic from Google is very “cheap” but it’s not the only one, specially if you want long term, more secure results.

    I was hit by (really unknown reason) with more then 60% decrease in search traffic from Google. I was already making changes to search for different sources of traffic and optimize my site but 4 days ago, after almost two months since the hit everything seems to be back to normal. Google is weird and they definitely aren’t worrying about solving anybody’s problems with their algorithm.

    Anyway, your work is truly inspiring. Really! So I wish you & your family a very happy and healthy new year too. Cheers!

  • http://stream-seo.com Servando Silva

    Hello Pat. First of all, It’s nice to see tour site back again after a few minutes of full traffic loaded.
    About your Golf’s Website, it’s an interesting story, but that means you can recover the earnings if you work on it, isn’t it?
    Will there be another year in review for the rest of your blog? (not only niche sites). Or can we expect to read that on the yearly income report?

    Happy new year!

  • http://livetheneweconomy.com Mike

    Pat, thanks for a great year full of quality content! Mostly, thanks for inspiring me to carve out my own online presence and start pursuing my own goals!

    I’ve done my own 2012 retrospective, and my results are certainly far more humble than yours, but we’ve had our own very good year and your site certainly has contributed to our success! So, thanks for that and happy 2013!

  • http://mobileonix.com Pat Farren

    Hi pat just love your honesty happy new year from Sunny Ireland.

  • http://www.thehomeforsurvival.com Survivor Mike

    Pat – congrats again.

    I hit $100 for the first month in Nov 2012 and hit $150 in Dec. Very excited and all thanks to your knowledge sharing. Will continue to utilize your affiliate links as I’ve liked all the products thus far.

    All the best to you and your family in 2013.

    • http://livetheneweconomy.com Mike

      I’m above $100 a month for two months in a row too. It is a great feeling, isn’t it?

  • http://canadianbudgetbinder.com Canadian Budget Binder

    Thanks for the update Pat I always learn so much from you. Happy New Year mate to you and your family. Mr.CBB

  • http://[email protected] Ashley Coombe

    I’m so glad you siad what you did about EMDs. I almost did not buy a url recently because I could not get anything close to my keywords. I decided to go for it anyway, and I’m glad I did. It was in the middle of google’s algorithm update, so I still wasn’t sure how much weight/penalty they would receive. It’s nice to see an “expert” (I say that with quotes because you claim to be just a regular guy…) confirm that we can relax when we can’t get the domain we were hoping wanted.

    Looking so forward to starting a mastermind group this year, thank you for the guidance, and congratulations on the new arrival in your home!!

    Happy New Year!
    Ashley

  • http://www.howtocreatepassiveincomebiz.com Peteni Kuzwayo

    Hey Pat

    Thanks a million for your great work in 2012. Your dedication to your audience is much appreciated. With the success you’ve achieved with the Security Guard blog and SPI, I have no doubt you’ll turn your Golf Tips blog into a worthwhile asset. So, I don’t for one second believe that it was a bad investment.

    Happy New Year man and I wish you and your family of the best in 2013.

  • JasonP

    Pat, what happened to part 3 of the private advertising series? I was wondering how you determined your pricing.

  • Derek Land

    Hey Pat,
    It’s cool finally getting some details about the golf site purchase. Buying and selling websites and domains can be tricky, domains especially with Google exact match update.

    Have you ever looked into Chitika ads for monetization?

  • http://wahjobs.blogspot.com Traci-Work at home job journal

    Pat I am always impressed with your honest and sharing what works and what doesn’t work for you.

  • Ranj Binns

    Fantastic earnings Pat. Determination and focus goes a long way:) I’ve read about some major marketers having their Adsense accounts banned despite following all the rules. Do you ever worry about this happening to you? Do you have a backup plan to replace Adsense just in case?

  • http://www.h4hitech.com sapna

    Hi Pat

    Thanks for the great work you have been doing – serving the community in one way or the other.

    Wishing you and your family happy and prosperous new year.

    Be Blessed.

    Sapna

  • http://simplegreensmoothies.com Jadah {Simple Green Smoothies}

    Thank you for sharing your results. It’s been fun following you build this niche site. I finally have my first niche site up: http://www.simplegreensmoothies.com We haven’t paid for any ads just using our social networks: http://www.instagram.com/simplegreensmoothies and Facebook to generate organic traffic. We created a free green smoothie challenge this weekend, and on our first day we announced the challenge at 3:45pm on Saturday, and we had 15,832 views (the day before we only had 1,112 views on our site), and the second day (which was yesterday), we had 28,837 views. We launched this site Nov. 10, 2012. I will be looking at your site more to find ways to grow our own site. So excited for 2013!

    • http://www.runninganinternetbusiness.com Mark McKnight

      Hi Jadah,

      Your site is looking really well and this is def. the right time of the year to be in the smoothie niche. January is a big month for smoothie lovers.

      I like your site design and homepage. Very colorful.

    • http://livetheneweconomy.com Mike

      Yeah, I think that niche is going to rock! Well done!

  • http://rossomemarketing.com Travis Ross

    Wow, Pat. I really appreciate how you aren’t afraid to share your successes AND failures. I’ve also lost money buying websites and it’s a tough lesson to learn, but a lesson none the less. Can’t wait for Be Everywhere to come out, too! Here’s to your success in 2013!

  • http://www.extra-cash-online.com/gun-control-debate-so-many-tragedies/ RCONNORIII

    Thanks Pat for the very interesting review of your sites – Good luck to you and your Family 2013!

  • http://www.inventionaddict.com Stephen Bozzone

    Pat,

    You are amazing. 2012 is the year I decided to take a leap of faith and get one of my inventions on Kickstarter. Not exactly passive income yet.

    It’s a lot of work to design and manufacture a product but I have learned a lot.

    Here is the link: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/786524725/lap-desk-for-your-ipad-tablet-computer-or-ereader

  • http://www.jocasey.com Jo Casey

    Pat I love and appreciate your honesty so much. with so many ‘I’ll show you how to be a gazillionaire working 10 hours per week’ charlatans out there I find your blog so much more inspiring becuase it’s real and I can trust you! You’re putting it out there success, learning points and all.

    I loved your recent Fizzle interview with Chase Reeves by the way – cracked me up and inspired me in equal parts!
    happy new year Pat – here’s to a fantastic 2013

    • Pat Flynn

      Haha thanks Jo! That was the funnest interview I’ve ever been a part of – Chase is hilarious! I’m glad you loved it! :)

      Happy new year to you and yours!

  • Jamie Hibbert

    A great post and one that will drive me into action to get all my goals aligned and start earning more in 2013. I am slightly annoyed with the emd update and hope it will not destroy my sites with keywords in the domains, not emd’s though.

    Anyway, quality content always rules so another year of quality content should do the trick for us all!

  • http://www.WellKeptWallet.com Deacon Hayes

    Hi Pat,

    I appreciate your willingness to share what you have learned with us, even if it is learning what not to do (i.e. the golf site). I have benefited much from reading your posts and listening to your podcasts. Thanks to you, I have recorded my first Youtube video EVER and I created a resources page for my site. I am sure that you will have more influence on what I do in 2013 :)

    Thank you and Happy New Year!

  • http://www.myjobsit.com Michael Kawula

    Tremendous review of 2012 and you’ve really been a big inspiration to the plans I have for 2013.

    3 years back I started a passive income site selling office supplies and cleaning supplies. The business grew so fast that I sold my other business to focus more on my site. I realized a few months ago that as Passive Income it was great, but doing it as a Job wasn’t enjoyable.

    I’ve spent the last few months restructuring the site to be more automated and focus 2013 on true passions. I’ll have 2 new sites I’m passionate about up in Q1 and be happy with the income I receive from my other business without having to make it my job. I’ve learned so much though your blog and am truly grateful.

    I hope everyone’s Dreams become Realities in 2013!

  • http://www.geniusbydesign.co.za Xihlamariso

    Hi Pat,

    you have been an inspiration to me throughout 2012, and you inspire me to keep going, even when I feel like giving up. Thanks for a great “look-back”.

  • http://mohitpawar.com/ Mohit Pawar

    Hi Pat,
    You continue to amaze with your honesty and intent to help.
    Wish you find more – joy, peace, love – and of course .. prosperity in 2013.
    Keep shining!

  • http://www.elfishki.com Pavel Mamaev

    Happy New Year Pat and thanks for another great post!

    Any plans on the iOS app development front in 2013? :)

    You inspired me to start my own iOS app business back in March 2011. First year was pretty difficult, but now we just had our first 6 digit earnings month in December! :) 2013 promised to be great.

    Wish you all the best in the upcoming year, and thanks for everything :)

  • http://www.trafficsalad.com/ Ryan

    Happy New Year Pat!

    Interesting case study on your beginner golf tip website.

    Too bad, it was hit by the EMD update. I’m guessing you’re traffic tanked around 28 or 29 of Sept.

    I had a site too that was hit on that update.

    It’s interesting to see if you can create another one from scratch like your niche site duel, securityguardtraininghq.com

    If you need participants from people who would do similar case studies, I know there will be tons of volunteers in the SPI community. I would join too.

    As we know, people in the “SEO” niches are wary of spun articles, UAW and what you have shared in the niche duel, but the truth is it still works.

    I’m excited to see your updates for 2013!

    Have a great week!

  • http://www.professionalcontentcreation.com Rebecca Livermore

    Hey Pat,

    Great update! I’m happy to hear the Snippet worked out, and can’t wait to read it!

  • http://www.free-online-calculator-use.com Dan Peterson

    Hi Pat,

    It’s very refreshing to read an honest year in review — minus all of the typical hype. I am also in the process of writing my first ebook (I am 28,000 words in) and I look forward to your guidance as I get my feet wet in the ebook publishing arena. I’ve already read your free ebook and plan to continue to my learning process your other offerings.

    BTW, I am also an avid (wife uses the word “obsessed”) golfer and I couldn’t help but wonder how much of your traffic drop was seasonal. In my neck of the woods our golf season ends about the same time your traffic dropped. Then, once the first of the year has passed, we allow ourselves to start dreaming of the day when we can move our shovels to storage and our clubs to where the shovels once stood. This dreaming also includes perusing the web for those little-known golf tips that we hope will take us to the next club championship final.

    In any case, congratulations on the birth of your daughter and thank you for your integrity. Best wishes for a happy and prosperous 2013.

  • undergroundman

    Your successes are very inspiring. I’ve been researching niche sites for a while now. Tried some things, tried affiliate marketing too. It’s hard and I don’t want to waste any more money. I swear I am putting in hours and hours, reading every ebook I can get my hands on, every blog, site, studying everything because I need the money.

    It’s really cool how successful you’ve been with making money online. I don’t think it’s really possible for me but I’m impressed by how you’ve done. Nice post.

  • Hamza

    Hi Pat, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, it helps us a lot by learning from your mistakes and I hope you much more success in 2013 :).

  • http://www.fitness-after-50.com Tom

    As always, great information. Your willingness to share both your “ups” and “downs” is very helpful and inspiring.

    I hope you have a super 2013.

  • http://exs24samples.com/ Dave G

    Although I don’t wish any failures on you :) it is strangely reassuring to know that even people who have achieved spectacular successes are not immune from things like traffic drying up, projects forced to be put on hold, and well, just things not turning out the way they were intended.
    Here’s to more hits and less misses in 2013 for all of us!

  • http://Www.cubiclefree.com cubicle free Quinn

    Very interesting to read about your site purchase. I have earned most of my income from job websites and I really think there may be an awesome opportunity for your security guard training site. I think you need to forget about third party vendors though and focus on attracting the job postings and candidates yourself. It’s not exactly passive but very lucrative and you could outsource the sales and customer service elements. A little due diligence needs to be done prior to jumping in with both feet but your niche is the perfect entry point to the sales funnel. I am happy to share everything I know if you ever want to explore this path. Happy New Year and see you in Vegas! Quinn

  • http://adoborepublic.net Manuel Maniquis

    I’ve been a subscriber for sometime (learned about you from Tim @MarginalBoundaries.com) and this is my first time to leave a comment. I do enjoy reading your newsletter and admire your openness when it comes to your earnings. I’m an Adsense publisher myself with only 3 niches, making just enough to cover expenses and a little bit extra. I’m beginning to think that Adsense alone will not make my income grow – eventhough I keep adding new contents to my niches – that without a product, this income will stagnate or may disappear in one of the future Google update/s. Unfortunately, all my niches do not have any product at any affiliate companies out there. So, my passive income dream is probably still years away, but I will keep trying. Thanks for a great year of read and more success to you in the next year and for years to come!

    Manuel

  • Gabor

    Hi Pat,

    Thank you for all support and sharing your experience what we can learn from not to do the same mistakes and how to tackle the same problems when we face with it!

    All the Best and Have a Prosperous New Year for You and Your Family!!
    Gabor

  • http://letsgrowspeech.com Anthony

    Pat, I just wanted to say thanks for all the awesome content on your site. I am consistently impressed by your desire to try new things even if they are a little risky. I admire your work ethic and desire to improve yourself and your sites. Your website has been a great inspiration to me this year as I have been struggling to create a website for my wife. We are hoping to be finished soon. As I have been working to finish our site I have looked to your site at each stage of the process for help on how to do each task. I look forward to 2013, and joining you on your journey of self improvement. Thanks again for the great content!

    Anthony

  • http://mymenopausefix.com Kris T. Smith, MPT

    Hey Pat, So you too have a few business challenges throughout the year. I’ve haven’t been more excited for a new Year in a long time. It might have been Y2K :-) Remember that whole thing? Anyway I look forward to great stuff from SPI, and I hope to report back with some awesome results from Q1. Here’s what on Deck

    1) Podcast Launch inspired by you and the Podcast Gang Cliff, Daniel, Ray, Dan – Of Course your Awesome Tutorial
    2) Increase my daily traffic to my blog with better keyword research using your training
    3) Launch my Kindle Book
    4) Redesign my Blog – O’yeah install the Optin skin I purchase using your Affiliate Link

    Thank Pat… Happy New Year!

    Kris

    • Pat Flynn

      I totally remember Y2K, hah!

      Thanks for the kind words and support, and here’s to a fantastic year ahead! Looks like you have a lot on your plate too, but that’s why it’s going to rock in 2013! :)

  • http://www.kateluella.com/ Kate Luella

    oh Pat, you are amazing how you lay out everything people to read and understand so well. I make no secret about the fact I’m not a fan of Adsense sites, for a lot of reasons, but I’m aware some savy online entreprenuers (like yourself) do well with it. I just think it’s a ball breaking exercise to get right, and for most people it won’t even make enough for a short holiday. But anyway, you’ve given some great ideas here, just by writing the way you do, so we can easily read it! So thanks again Pat for an amazing blog in 2012, I do hope you continue with your work, I also hope to interview you on a podcast soon, I know, take a number, but I hope to catch up with you one way or another very soon! :) Kate

    • Pat Flynn

      Thank you Kate, and I’d be happy to do an interview with you! Just shoot me an email and we’ll set something up when our schedules align. Cheers, and all the best! Thank you for the support!

  • Craig Dargan

    Pat, I just have to commend you on your decision to halt work on your Niche Site product after the environment became potentially unfavorable. Too many people out there have no problems putting out products of old techniques that really don’t work. Believe me, I have been suckered more than one. One of the things that keep me coming back to SPI is your obvious integrity. Don’t ever lose that! Keep up the good work!

  • http://loszieglerencanada.com Guillermo

    What I like the most of you and your blog, and that you can easily see in this post, is how authentic you are. That is what makes you great and readable and trustable. You’ve been my greatest discovery of 2012.

  • http://www.apocketcamera.com Graham Smith

    I just want to say a quick thank you Pat – I found your podcast about 6 months ago and this week I finally took the plunge and started my first small niche online business for iPhone photography. I took the advice of so many of your podcast interviews and went with something I am incredibly passionate about and have a history in. Within 4 days of the site being live I got my first banner advert! Ok, so it is not much, but it is a strong start and only after 4 days. I was beyond thrilled!

    I have went through a lot of other “make money” podcasts / websites and the majority of them I have now deleted. I like the honesty and sincerity you give across, please do not change that style!

    So yeah, thank you! I hope I can come back in 6 months time and say that my new business has grown strong.

    Keep up the great work in 2013!

  • http://authoritywebsiteincome.com Jon

    Pat, impressive for you to “leave money on the table” and not sell your nearly complete niche sites course.

    Like you said the process does still work just not as repeatable as you would like.

    Have you considered making the course public and using it as your lead gen magnet instead of your EBooks the smart way?

    All the best to you and your growing family in 2013!

    Jon

  • http://www.thestarboardtack.com Mary Lou Scott

    Hey Pat – Hoping to get off the countdown on this site soon – and one of my goals is to read ALL your 2012 posts…I only found you halfway through the year!
    Lots to learn…even more to do! Thanks

  • http://www.davcomedia.co.uk Ian Davies

    Hi Pat

    Thanks for everything you’ve given to us in 2012 and best wishes for 2013.

    Regards.

    Ian D

  • http://www.nhlmockdraft.org Bill

    Hey Pat,
    Thanks for sharing your failures. You do such a good job that it can sometimes make Internet Marketing look easy. It’s nice to know you’re not Superman. If Pat Flynn can fail at a few IM projects then maybe we should all be a little less hard on ourselves when one of our projects doesn’t deliver as expected.
    Good luck in 2013 and keep up the good work!
    Thanks,
    Bill

  • Chris Mondorowicz

    Thank you for your fantastic support. I appreciate your style, honesty and your contribution to other IMers success. I follow you.

    A happy and successful new year to everybody.

    Chris Mondorowicz

  • Ranj Binns

    Pat, if you were to create another major website similar to your Security Guard Training site, would you go about it the exact same way or would you change your tactics/techniques in order to get your site ranked faster and earning money?

  • pstchaseki

    I don’t know if anyone asked, are you considering adding some videos for your golf site? Needless to say (of course you know), I would think videos may be an essential component especially for beginning sports tutorial site.

  • http://www.zootravelguide.com Cheryl

    Love your site and especially like your meat and potatoes posts like this one. Its great to see what works and what doesn’t. Of all of Google’s changes, the one that makes the least amount of sense to me is the one that penalizes for exact domain names.

  • http://www.codeconquest.com/ Charles

    I’ve bookmarked your new golf site. It’s already given me some ideas for ways I can improve my own website, which will be relaunching in a few days.

  • http://hacerapps.com hacer apps

    Just love coming and getting inspire with your story happy new year pat

  • http://samsons1.com sam

    Thanks so much Pat for your great videos and your meaningful and helpful articles. So glad I run into you and admire your results from helping others this year. Wishing you continued success and blessings to you and your family in the New Year…

  • http://howtocruise.co.uk David

    Thanks Pat for sharing your heart, your wins and your failures. You’re a massive inspiration to us! Thanks for sharing what works for you with monetorising. I have a website for cruise holidays for beginners – howtocruise.co.uk – which has reached position 1 for the keyword “how to cruise”. But I can’t seem to get any Adsense income from it. So the advice you give in posts such as today’s is always appreciated. Of course, any advice specific to the website would also be appreciated! Happy New Year to you, your family, and fellow subscribers.

  • http://www.happyuncookedathlete.com Jane Manthorpe

    Hi Patt,
    I am a recent follower of you and I am so hooked :) Thanks for sharing like you do and being so open and honest, its sure is my way of doing things too.
    I have listened to all of your podcasts as I run everyday and they inspire me with great ideas for my new website and up coming blog. I have to say that I subscribed to a few podcasts and found them real boring, but yours is not, you are full of inspiration and down to earth and find you a pleasure to listen to, the reason why is that its not structured it a boring format but in a friendly easy tone as though you are talking to me personally. I have plans to do a podcast for my niche and will definitely follow your style of podcasting :) All the best to you for a even more successful and profitable year to you Pat x

  • http://www.brothersewingmachineparts.com/ John

    Happy New Year! Thanks for all the tips!!!

  • Ashupride

    Happy and Prosperous new Year to you and your Family, I hope 2013 will bring more prosperity to us.

    To say good bye to 2012 and welcome 2013 i started with two new projects for this year one is http://www.yogatricksandtips.com where we are building more illustrative way to demonstrate yoga and other is http://www.affiliatemarketingtricksandtips.com where we are trying to build forum for affiliate to enhance knowledge both are good niche and SEO friendly. Please have a look at both the projects and let us know if you have any suggestion.

    Thanks, have a wonderful new year.

  • Jan Simecik

    Pat… just one sentence – YOU changed my world!

    Yeah, really. You make me move to entrepreneur life and I can’t thank you enough!
    I was (and still I am) at high school in graduate year and I’m making money from online business because of you! It’s not much for now but I will do my best to improve it!

    Thank you very much and happy new year to you and your family!

    Jan Simecik,
    Czech Republic

  • http://www.moneyskillsblog.com Jeremy Jameson

    While AdSense is not inherently a bad way to monetize a blog (rather the contrary), I remember while reading this post that you’ve mentioned before that you make quite a bit of money on SPI with affiliate links and other methods. It seems that the principle of diversification which is often cited as a necessity in investing can apply similarly to income streams in blogging.

  • http://Wackypodia.com Henk

    A great read Pat! I sent you the link to the site where I cloned the SPI site using Thesis 2. I hope you get the emails and have time to read them! Happy new Year!

  • http://www.thehawaiiplan.com Ron

    Pat,

    I’m so glad I found your blog. I’m a freelancer webdesigner, so I enjoy making websites, but I know so little about monetization.

    This latest entry was incredibly helpful. So many blogs with similar topics seem to have an agenda or they list tips without any supporting evidence. You just seem a lot more sincere and clairvoyant, and I really reading from people like you. Happy New Year!

    -RON

  • http://www.missingpetsofamerica.com Jerrie Dean

    Hi Pat, Thanks for the informative read. It really help me a lot to compare my stats to yours. Back in 2010, I thought when I get the visitors my Adsense will soar. Now I have the visitors but the soaring is pretty close to the ground. :-) Looking at your traffic stats, it seems that my adsense earnings are piddly compare to the amount of traffic I am getting. Last year I received over 500,000 visitors and this year almost 1 million, but I can’t seem to break the magic payout number for adsense every month. I think my ad placement is right per your advice, so I am wondering if my content is keeping people from clicking.

  • http://denny.co Denny Robert

    Hey Pat,
    Seeing that you are using Thesis a lot, have you made the switch to Thesis 2.0 or are you still on 1.85? I switched as soon as 2.0 came out, but making changes hasn’t been as straightforward for me. There is so much documentation that I can follow for 1.85, but 2.0 has very little. What are you using?

  • http://edtechking.com/ Kris King

    Pat,
    Thanks for this post. I learn from post like these and enjoy your insight and experiences. I am very interested in reading more on the “Snippets” you spoke about. Hope you and your family have a great New Year!

    P.S. – I so wish you could produce more Podcasts, I know it’s more work on you but I learn so much and look forward to hearing you and your guests. Keep up the great work.
    Kris

    • http://blogpod.tv Chris Jacob (blogpod.tv)

      Hi Kris,

      Out of interest… If SPI Blog was narrated by Pat (or a professional audiobook narrator), and delivered as a podcast, would you subscribe?

      I’ve personally listened to all 52 of Pat’s podcast episodes. They have only left me wanting more! :)

      Which format do you find most convenient – READing SPI Blog or LISTENING to SPI Podcast?

      I would love to hear you’re thoughts on this if you have the time.

      Thank you,
      Chris Jacob

      • http://edtechking.com/ Kris King

        I have listened to all of his podcasts too.. Several multiple times. I love the podcasts and the length of them. I would subscribe if his blog was narrated. Of course this would in addition to still visiting and reading his text.

        Interesting concept, and to be honest, I listen/read anything he has to say as he a leader in this field and I respect his thoughts and experiences.

  • http://www.DebtToLife.com Wesley Wiley

    Thanks Pat! You’re such an encouragement! We just had a baby boy on Dec. 13th, and his big sister is only 15 months old, so I understand completely having to put things on hold for a season. Family first! One nice benefit is that I’ve listened to about a dozen of your podcasts this past week while doing laps around my living room in the middle of the night trying to get Hudson to go back to sleep. :)
    Anyways, happy new year!

  • http://PoorDoctor.com Buck Joffrey

    Pat,
    I would like to commend you, once again, for being the straight shooter in this internet marketing space. When the penguin/panda/exact search term fiasco hit, it was clear that the world of niche sites had changed forever. The exact search term sub-update, in particular, was something I found almost unbelievable. I know guys with some descent sites that got killed–even sites that were for REAL BRICK AND MORTAR BUSINESSESS! Obviously, not all sites were hurt, but I don’t really believe that anyone knows for sure why some were hit and some were not. Obviously you weren’t sure and that’s why you scrapped the course you were working on. In contrast, one of the other well known internet business blogs is currently offering a niche site course–the trailer video was made WAY before panda and penguin. You continue to do the right thing, brother!

    I am curious, though, if you think niche sites are worth investing time in at this point–new ones that is. Personally, this algorithm thing has got me spooked and I don’t think it is worth the time any more with all the other ways of making passive income on the internet like ebooks on amazon kindle, e-commerce (especially with shopify), or by blogging about your passion like you do (and I have humbly started doing) and using affiliate links to earn commissions.

    Keep up the good work,

    Buck Joffrey

  • http://blogpod.tv Chris Jacob (blogpod.tv)

    Hi Pat,

    Hearing that you’ll be bringing SPI onto new platforms (like Snippet) has me very #excited too!

    I found SPI through the SPI Podcast earlier this year. You have inspired and motivated huge change in my life ever since.

    You’ve accomplished so much this year; you should be incredibly proud of your self.

    2013 is going to be epic!

    Warm Regards,
    Chris Jacob

  • http://www.supermoneymakersblog.com Anes Amrani

    I think you had a mistake in Long Tail Keywords stats you said:

    In 2012, the site was found from 27,946 total keywords.
    In 2012, the site was found from 59,861 total keywords. (a 114% increase)

    I think you meant:
    In 2011, the site was found from 27,946 total keywords.
    In 2012, the site was found from 59,861 total keywords. (a 114% increase)

    • Pat Flynn

      Ahh indeed. Thanks Anes! Corrected. I appreciate the heads up!

      • http://www.supermoneymakersblog.com Anes Amrani

        Welcome bro

  • http://www.platformofwomen.com.au CaAtherine

    Hi Pat, Once again – THANK you for being such a generous soul. Since discovering SPI 10 months ago I’ve big an HUGE fan. So much so – that a friend and I started Flynntastic Fridays – which I know you are aware of. Life has interrupted my online journey over the last couple of months – but that’s all sorted and I’m about to delve back in to the SPI vault of information and grow.

    Be proud of all your achievements this year and keep sharing, and inspiring us all Pat. All the best in 2013 to you and the family.

    best wishes,
    CaAtherine

  • http://kumarsetu.com Kumar

    Great analysis Pat. I have been following your blog for sometime – and really liked your transparency. I have definitely picked up some nuggets from you.

    And sad to hear that your golf site tanked while recent changes. I work on lots of such sites everyday – helping them recover from such penalties. And as a way to say thanks for everything you share with community – I would be glad to take a look at your site and recommend what can be done to recover it. It’ll be an absolute pleasure if I can help you anyway.

  • David

    Pat,

    Happy New Year!

    Don’t worry about the book not having progressed as you wanted. It’ll come together and when it does it will surely be a great read that will help a ton of people and therefore be a success. My opinion is: for those who work hard and smart nothing happens without a reason. So, I am sure that by the time you finish the book you will know why things delayed and why this was good. Don’t forget: you have a connection to influential people now, like Tim Ferriss. And there seems to be a connection with Gary V on the way. All VERY helpful people but the relationship with them has yet to be brought to a level where they’ll be more than happy to promote your book ;)

    Regards from Greece,
    David

  • Tom

    Hi Pat,

    Happy New Year to you and your family, may it bring you all you wish for.

    I’d just like to thank you for your blog – its brilliant. In comparison to other bloggers covering the same subject your approach is very refreshing! I love your content and have found it most inspirational. Though only working at online things on a part time basis, I hope to follow your lead over the coming montrhs and set up the beginings of a source of passive online income. I know it will take time but, if I’ve learned anything from your content its patience and tenacity.

    Keep up the great work!

    Blwyddyn Newydd Dda o Gymru.

  • http://www.thuthuatwordpress.com/ten-mien-gia-re-tai-can-tho/ domain gia re

    wow, i am amazed by the target from your niche site main keyword. It is really a money key.

  • http://www.theseoexperiment.co.uk Paul Hill

    Hi Pat, congratulations on another great year. Looking forward to seeing what you have planned for 2013

    As for the golf website…it is easy to see that you have purchased it elsewhere. It just has not got that Pat Flynn feel about it. I’m sure you will turn it around but for me, it’s clear that its all about the profit.

    Anyway, big fan of the blog and podcasts…Happy New Year!

  • http://www.runninganinternetbusiness.com Mark McKnight

    Hi Pat,

    I had a look at your Beginner Golf Tips website and it has the potential to be a big money earner if you are interested in golf.

    The main reason I think it isn’t a big success at the moment is because it lacks credibility. From reading your blog and website content here, the most important pages are the About me and resources. They build your credibility in the internet business niche.

    If you are giving out golfing tips, your visitors want to make sure they are getting advice from someone who has been there and done it. Just like you have in the internet business.

    The first thing you need is to be interested in golf. An outsourced writer probably won’t come across as passionate as you. The second thing you need is an about me page building your credibility with your visitors. Then a newsletter.

    The last thing is your ‘be everywhere’ strategy. You need ‘how to’ golf videos, facebook fanpage and all the other relationship building tools.

    Together with great content, this could be a great earning potential.

  • http://www.iblogJuicing.com Frank @ i blog Juicing.com

    Happy New Year Pat,

    I’m really glad you decided not to offer that Niche Course. I’m sure you would have sold out of the course but the fact that you shelved it after the google updates demonstrates once again why you are and will continue to be successful.

    You obviously assessed the pro’s and con’s and decided that your reputation and brand are worth much more.

    Great Call… and you will make up for that lost time eventually.

    Take care

    Frank

  • http://gyantastic.com/blogging-101/ Ram Shengale – How To Blog Tutor

    Hey Pat,

    I’m eagerly waiting for your next in depth post like the niche duel. Have started a blog after that and now I am making about $100 per month from it.

    Thanks,
    Ram

  • http://blog.quickfireposters.com Karen

    Hi Pat,

    Thanks for always being honest with your readers and telling us about your failures as well as your successes. If anything, your failures inspire me even more, since you are so honest about the probable reasons for failure.

    Wishing you all the best for 2013 to you and your family.

  • http://www.ukprowriter.com Darren Boulter

    Thanks Pat, for a very inspirational 2012. Looking forward to a great 2013 reading and learning from the master.
    Happy new year.

  • http://rich-blogger.com Kamil @ Rich Blogger

    Pat, all the best in 2013. Good luck with your books projects. With this website which failed to make money, it happens, especially now when Google changes so much things in so short time. 2012 was really difficult in SEO.

  • http://www.profitablenicheblogging.com rob mills

    Pat, Why oh why are you not gathering emails and offering a free gift on your golf niche site? You teach this all the time – why haven’t you implemented this? Maybe i missed something. But a simple free ebook and then a autoresponser follow up sequence will engage, create a customer rapport and let you make affiliate offers to these people. Just my 2 cents….Here’s to an amazing 2013 – keep it up Pat! Rob. UK.

  • http://fitnesswellnessworld.com/ Marina Aagaard

    Hi Pat,
    Thank you for another personal and phantastic post. You ‘honestly’ inform and inspire in unique and amazing ways and areas. Even the most unlikely audience …
    Giga-Greetings for a truly Super 2013.
    Marina, DK

  • http://www.InstantTrafficOnline.com Chris

    Great year end summary Pat! I learn so much from your podcasts and appreciate your “open book” approach to your audience!

  • http://www.cash4wealthng.com Adams

    Hi Pat,

    I got motivated about my own site because of you. your detail post has help me greatly especially disclosing your monthly income report. thanks as a financial writer i look forward to a whole lot in 2013.

  • http://www.itechcode.com Amit Shaw

    Hey Pat Happy New Year :) You are The Real Inspiritation of Affiliate Markettiing for me. I was like Adsense Nerds but after Smartpassiveincome i fully removed adsense from my blog and started working with mailing list and affiliate products. All credit goes to SPI. I always love to read your Income report which really increase our interest :) for affiliate marketing.
    Thanks wish you more and more success.

  • http://www.smartbusinessrevolution.com John Corcoran

    It’s interesting to hear about your experiments with purchasing a website. I hope you will have an opportunity to play around with it more and write about it, as I think that would be interesting. See you next weekend at NMX.

  • http://thekristasphere.tumblr.com Krista

    Pat: How did you make your “Start Here” box at the top of the site? Is it a sticky post,plugin, or something else? Thanks!

  • http://www.alexmoneystreams.com Alex

    Hi Pat,

    I always love reading what you have to say and your year review, as always inspiring. I always enjoy visiting your Blog; you always have something of value to share with all of us. I personally don’t like writing so blogging I struggle with. But over the last 3 years or so I have been looking for something that I can feel passionate about. 8 month ago I found something I was very comfortable with. But it’s because of bloggers like you that keeps us holding in there and trying stuff until it works. I am looking forward to 2013 so a big thank you for just being there with your inspiring Blog. I know 2013 will be another great year; I/we just have to keep at it and realise that giving up isn’t an option.

    I wish you and your family a wonderful 2013 and keep up the inspiring work.

    To your success
    Alex

  • http://www.twitter.com/danieldecker Daniel Decker

    Wishing you a great 2013 Pat. One of the best points of this post, beyond the tangible examples, was “…but family will always come first and I’d much rather invest time with my daughter now while she’s young because she won’t be young for long.”

    No use building a great business unless you are also building a great life. #PrioritiesMatter

  • http://visitarnovayork.com Nova York

    Hi Pat,

    thanks for providing such useful information in 2012.
    I am looking forward to read more about you during 2013.

    Regards,
    Rui from Visitar Nova York

  • http://perfectearningtips.com igbalaye Olayemi

    Hi Pat,
    Congratulation on the success in 2012 and i hope you have already plan for this year 2013 which i know that your earning will still increase in this year because you are doing the right thing and also helping a lot of people out there including me. thanks for sharing this wonderful tips.

  • http://www.yourwellnessnhealth.com Frank

    Great post. Love the fact that you are so real. It helps us, who are just starting out online to read your “real time learning” experiences. Mistakes are great tools for learning. Why are most people so afraid to make a mistake? Sharing them as you have here, is totally awesome.

    As for me, I have made too many mistakes so far. My 2012 found me focused on offline consulting, only to have the legal and political battles making it very difficult to gain traction in 2012. Then the EMB hit me hard, taking away all that I thought I had gained online. But over the summer I found your podcasts and posts. They kicked in and my online work started to build again in the fall. Thanks to you, I am on a roll. Your own site review, lead to my finally getting my site seo knowledge up to beginner level. I plan to crush it, as you say in 2013. The book is coming, the video is coming and a new focus on my niche, consulting on alternative health insurance strategies for small business like us.

  • http://www.myworkathomeventures.com Melissa @ My Work At Home Ventures

    Great post Pat! I was very interested to see that the EMD update affected your new site too. I had been wondering how much the Google updates had affected your strategy overall. I’m sorry to hear you had to scrap the paid training program because of it. I took a big hit with my new candle making site too and it was so disappointing! But, I’ve been working on it and it is gradually getting back up there in traffic partly from using the UAW strategy and partly from just building links other ways adding new content, and getting people sharing it, just not for the keyphrase I’ve been targetting. Plus I’ve started making videos and will be making a 3rd one soon. My first video already has over 1000 views in a month and a half! (So, so exciting!)

    One cool thing for 2012 is that I got 2 checks from Google! The most I’ve ever made online!

    I am very excited for 2013 since my husband and I have decided to give me a couple hours a few nights a week where he will take care of the kids while I go to the library or something with my laptop and work without interruption. I am a stay at home mom and he works during the day, but it is still hard for me to focus on working on my projects during the day with 3 young boys in the house! lol
    I also may be starting with my first, paid web design project! So cool :)
    And I’m hoping to get my ebook that I started a few months ago, done! :)

    Well, I look forward to seeing what’s in store for you this year and Happy New Year!!

  • http://www.howtocreateawebsiteonline.com Vince @ How to Create a Website Online

    Big fan of the website Pat! I created my first niche site a couple days ago and have been using your techniques. I’ll keep you posted with the results I see! Plus over $900 on adsense would be cool for me! :P

  • http://ztdchallenge.wordpress.com/ Luis

    Amazing update, Pat.
    One of the best things on this blog is that you also share your defeats.

    In regard of book writing. I don’t exactly do that, but I write a scientific article and it’s really tough. I found extremely useful the simple tip that I got from author Neil Strauss:
    - First write for yourself, as if no one else was going to read it (this is huge). No one else except you gotta end up happy at this point.
    - Next, write for your readers or followers.
    - Last, write for the haters. For the ones that will be inclined to criticize.

    Doing this helped me to get a draft much better than the previous one, which was so horrible I had to rewrite it from scratch.

  • http://adareaday.blogspot.com Vickie

    Thanks for sharing all of your successes AND your lessons learned, Pat. Although I always wish you the best in whatever venture you embark on, I appreciate you sharing the things that don’t work out so well also because it helps those of us just starting out to learn from those lessons without having to make them ourselves. You’re the best! Wishing you nothing but success in 2013 and congrats on your new baby girl!

  • http://www.mobiloney.com Don

    Pat,

    I just wanted to say thanks for sharing. You are obviously a nice
    guy who try’s to help others, and I think that has increased the
    value of your own success. I wish you and your family all the best
    in 2013 and beyond. You are a person who helps and gives back.
    That speaks for itself. Continued success.

    Best,
    Don

  • http://hgcouponcode.net/ Mark

    Wow! A very inspirational 2012! Tks a lot!

    Happy new year.

  • http://www.purrfectmoments.com Sheila Bergquist

    Pat, I love your honesty and straight forward advice. Looking forward to your book! Have a wonderful 2013 and thanks for your great site…I learn so many things here.

  • http://www.personalfreedombusiness.com Robin Heinen

    Hi Pat, I really like how transparent you are in your articles. It’s great to hear that you have failed some stuff (this might sound odd, but this is where we (and you too) learn the most of). Most so called guru’s out there don’t share the bad experiences, hence, they are bad mentors. You share it all and I really appreciate that! I hope your security guard niche site will continue to do well in 2013 and well, maybe some new algorithm updates in Google’s 2013 will boost your traffic to the golf site as well – who knows? I wish you a happy new year!
    Regards, Robin

  • http://www.adrianbold.com Adrian

    Thanks for the update. I was particularly interested in hearing how Beginners Golf Tips was doing having sold it to you.

    It’s a shame about the EMD but I hope it recovers. A good golf writer would certainly help!

    Have a great 2013! :-)

  • http://Www.schreibsuchti.de Walter Epp

    Thank you Pat for Sharing your success and failures. I am from Germany i am Glad i found you through iTunes.
    You inspired me to Start my Own Site http://www.schreibsuchti.de with Tips about writing. Thank you.
    God bless your Family and your 2013.

  • http://www.ecuadorgeorge.com Ecuador George

    Pat, my site is one year old this month… and I show up on page one, two, and three for my keywords… Starting to get more page loads from google now. Thanks for all you have taught me. I have not monitized the site yet but I am getting more than 10000 page loads a month and a couple of travel agencies have asked to advertise on the site. Specializing in retirement to Ecuador, the site currently gets most of its traffic from referrals from other retirement sites but my search engine percentage continues to increase each month…. Google “cost of living in Ecuador” and I should show up… Have a great New Year everyone…. http://www.ecuadorgeorge.com.

  • http://www.reputationgroup.com John Millen

    Pat, Thanks for your continued inspiration. You inspired me to get serious about blogging more than a year ago and it’s had a remarkable effect on growing my business. I write and speak about reputation (www.reputationgroup.com) and why your reputation is so much better than so many “successful” hucksters on the internet is your transparency and integrity.

    After all the work you put into that program, most of those guys would have released it regardless of Google’s update. Keep up the great work and continued success to you.

    John

  • Mark Whelan

    Hey Pat,
    A massive thank you to you for all the content you’ve published this year, and for the open way in which you do business. 2013 will be the year I forget my career and begin my journey and I shall be checking in on SPI as I go. Also, a huge congratulations on the birth of your daughter.
    Have an awesome 2013.
    Cheers, Mark

  • http://incometherapy.com Connor Harley

    Hi Pat, Congratulations on your achievements for 2012. Some mistakes but I know you learned a lot form them. I enjoyed reading about your ventures. It has helped me as well in planning my own. Thanks.

  • http://www.webandseo.fr/ Maximilien

    Hi Pat!

    Congrats for all your achievements in 2012 and the impressive work that you make everyday. I always learn so many things from you, your website and your newsletter! It’s my first comment on the blog even if I was here for a while ;)

    Happy New Year to you and I wish you a lot of success for 2013!

  • Mike

    I cant wait till the niche site course comes out. I will defiantly be buying it!

  • http://TimsMinions.com Andi the Minion

    Happy New Year Pat, what a great year you have had. I only got to know of you in the summer of 2011 and from the outside you have had what looks to be an excellent year! I look forward to seeing what you achieve and share in 2013.

    Thank you for all of the valuable information and ideas. All the best to you and your family from us Minions over in the UK.
    Cheers
    Andi

  • http://ciriongroup.com Justin Westbrooks

    SO excited for 2013! Thank you for being transparent with us, what a trust-builder! And thank you for reminding us of the importance of family in the midst of ambition and startup excitement. It’s very easy to get sucked into the fun, focus on yourself and forget the ones who care about you. Looking forward to the 2013 journey!

  • http://www.empowernetwork.com/rony94/ Ron

    That’s always great to have such testimonial of progress and achievement!
    I am also on my way to have very good income online as a second main stream of income!
    Very good blog, by the way!

  • http://www.gauraw.com Kumar Gauraw

    Hello Pat,
    I am the first time visitor to your blog and for sure I am very impressed about your success story. You sure have some great quality content and I enjoyed this post very much

    Thanks for inspiring people with your story to take charge for their own online presence and start pursuing their dreams and goals!

    I wish you a Happy New Year and all the best for 2013! May the Force be with you!
    Regards,
    Kumar

  • http://www.yastech.ca Mike Yasieniuk

    Hey Pat, thanks for sharing your experience with begginnersgolftips.com. I think as you stated, it is extremely important to keep your content current to ensure your website continues to rank well in Google.

    After taking a look at this website, I believe another important aspect of success is design. A couple years ago a site like this would have been okay, but with the quality of blogs today this site wouldn’t see a lot of return traffic or subscribers.

    I know thesis is a great blogging framework but sometimes limiting to setting up great looking sites right off the shelf. A great design does not have to be a large investment. You can often find a great looking wordpress theme on Themeforest for about $40.

    Good luck with this site this coming year!

  • http://www.strengthforce.com Mike Rush

    That’s good stuff. It’s pretty funny cuz I almost bid on http://www.beginnersgolftips.com when I heard Pat mention Flippa. Small world.

  • http://aaronhoos.com Aaron Hoos

    Hey, I’m a frequent reader but not a frequent commenter. (Note to self, I need to change that).

    Anyway, I just wanted to write a quite note to you, Pat, and say that I appreciate your honesty. It really sets you apart on the web. There are lots of people out there who share their successes but not their struggles.

    The trajectory of my business feels similar to yours: Different projects; mixed bag of good and bad; extremely busy with life. So I’m not only always learning from you but also really connected to your story and rooting for you too!

    Keep up the great work. All the best on your book and in your life in 2013.

  • http://www.drivenmavens.com Arvind Ramkrishna

    Excellent Pat,

    I have really been impressed by your dedication to help others. I am a terrible skeptic but over the years of listening to you and from the Internet Business Mastery Days, I can’t put into words how wonderful your content and attention to detail has been.

    Wish you all the best for 2013 and beyond. You deserve it! I am definitely looking forward to putting your techniques to practice this year for my niche!

    Best Always!

  • http://www.tiffanydow.com/blog Tiffany Dow

    Thanks for everything you share, Pat!

    I loved what I saw in Snippets and appreciate that most.

    Hope 2013 is good to you!

  • http://viamaverick.com/about Chris Altamirano

    Solid 2012 my man!

    Tough luck with that golf website you purchased from Flippa! My buddy wanted to buy this website that was making over $150k per year and even went to the bank to try and get a loan to buy it! He was certain he could convince the bank to lend him the money (never happened). At least yours was a much smaller risk!

    You live, learn, assess, and make the right decisions next time though! As for this Snippet thing, I think it’s something to be excited about. After checking out the Facebook page and seeing that they only had less than 150 likes, it looks to be at it’s infancy – always good to see when checking out a new company. Hopefully it does well, I know me (and hopefully all of the other SPI readers) will jump on board.

    Much respect for holding back on releasing that niche site course. I know most other marketers would have released it, regardless of the EMD update, and would have just added content to the members area to solve their clients problems. That’s the tough thing about releasing an SEO course, with Google’s everlasting changes and tweaks, you can never be to sure about what will come next. I guess that’s the thrill of being an internet entrepreneur. It’s almost a David (us) vs Goliath (Google) battle! ha! :)

    All in all, great work in 2012, have a great year in 2013 and let me know if you need anything! All the best Pat!

    Cheers!

    - Chris Altamirano

  • Maureen McGuinness

    Hi Pat,

    I just discovered your site over Christmas and want to say thank you for all of your valuable advice. It’s great finding a new community devoted to personal growth and passive income.

    Hope you continue to be as successful if not more in 2013.

    Maureen

  • http://wanttoquitmyjob.com Christian Erick

    Hi Pat! thank you so much for sharing! I’ve been reading all 2012 your blog and it has been really inspiring, I’m currently working in a 12hr a day job but I finally started a blog and I’m trying to get serious at it, your niche site duel has been really helpful with this and your backlinking strategy as well, hopefully soon enough I’ll let you know if I’m pass the $100usd barrier have a great 2013 and keep sharing and helping people the way you do =)

  • http://www.mohexamnews.com Hammad Maqbool

    Happy New Year Patt! Happy New Year! Well there are some blogs outhere who are keeping uptodate their readers about the latest trends which are changing day by day! I hope you will also start similar section here to keep us all informed how things are changing!

  • http://mariegoround.com Marie

    Happy New Year Pat! Thank you for sharing your knowledge. This year I’m going to apply what I learned from your website. :)

  • http://www.ciudadano2cero.com Berto López

    Hi Pat,
    First of all, congrats for your awesome results!

    I wanted to ask you a question of something I really don’t understand:

    You said that (rounding up figures) in 2011 the Security Guard blog earned around $15k with around 150k visits. That is 10 cents for every visit.

    If we suppose a visit/pageview rate of 2, that would be 5 cents for every visit which in turn means a RPM of $50…

    You will agree that this is an imposible figure with AdSense (and any other type of advertising I guess), isn’t it?

    So what is my mistake? Where is the trick?

    Cheers,
    Berto

  • http://www.nycseopro.com paul

    Hey Pat, i understand you feel. I started my website http://www.weddingthemeshop.com in 2010 and the site was making in average $6000 a month. I had two rental properties to maintain, and some stock investment as well. I started a book on success ever since my son was born in 2009, I found very little time to finish that book. Then my daughter was book two weeks earlier in 2011. I just begin a marketing business online: http://www.nycseopro.com. I also created an app as well. Perhaps, people may think that i am crazy. But reading your post gives me some comfort because I see that we share some common goals.

    We must be willing to fight to win.

    thanks for your post.

  • http://www.nycseopro.com paul

    Hey Pat, i understand how you feel. I started my website http://www.weddingthemeshop.com in 2010 and the site was making on average $6000 a month. I had two rental properties to maintain, and some stock investment as well. I started a book on success ever since my son was born in 2009, I found very little time to finish that book. Then my daughter was born two weeks earlier in 2011. I just begin a marketing business online: http://www.nycseopro.com. I also created an app as well. Perhaps, people may think that i am crazy. But reading your post gives me some comfort because I see that we share some common goals.

    We must be willing to fight to win.

    thanks for your post.

  • Ryan

    I really like your honesty and your willingness to share your knowledge with others. I watched a video of you being interview by another marketer and heard a little bit about yourself when you first started out in internet marketing. I like to hear stories of how people started out and what was going through their minds and what obstacles they had to overcome in the process.

    I listen to that video every now and again to give me that inspiration I need from time to time. It is not an easy thing to do…. being successful online and making it into a full time job, it takes tremendous amounts of work, but it WILL payoff. Hard, honest work always does.

    Thanks for all the advice, I check your site to see what your views on a particular subject are if I get a lot of mixed answers elsewhere. I will be a fan for a long time.

  • http://www.bwomenretreat.com Yasmine Khater

    Hi Pat

    Thanks for such an expressive blog entry, congrats for all your amazing achievements. I have just started my journey in November, putting together a team for a first coaching retreat for women, and after 6 weeks launched my website http://www.bwomenretreat.com, and now looking at making sure all the 30 seats are filled.

    After doing this, I realized the importance of building a list. I was able to sell one seat in the past 4 days, and as I brought together a team of 4 other experts, we look forward to all work together to push the efforts to get the event sold.

    I have been following your blog for a few months, but never had the time to implement what you had in place, as I have more time this year, I look forward to making it happen.

    Thanks for being AWESOME

  • http://www.cloud65.com Easy Earn Money

    as Stephanie replied I’m amazed that a mother can make $7339 in 4 weeks on the internet. have you seen this site link http://www.Cloud65.com

  • http://bloggerspeaks.com/ Sai

    Thanks pat for creating this blog, Bro you are helping us a lot to make money online. I hope in coming months you will keep helping us in various aspects of blogging and MMO.

  • http://www.omnis1.com.au driving instructors adelaide

    You have uploaded an awesome site.

  • http://www.gotechmax.com/ lijo kv

    my Dear friend ,This is nice and informative post Thanks.I like your writing style.This post really attract and inspiring me.

  • http://MailOrderBrideNews.com Michael Barnes

    Pat,

    Congrats on a great 2012! I read this post and was simultaneously excited and scared. Excitement on the great things you’re doing and success you’ve had online. Dread because I worry about how all these Google changes will affect my neophyte business. I am a newbie to this … perhaps it would be helpful if you wrote a blog post detailing how changes to Google’s search structure can affect your business and how to withstand this. It seems one change caused you to abandon an entire site!

    Thanks for the great content and best of luck in 2013.

    Mike

  • http://afinancetip.blogspot.com/ qadar

    Hi, I just came to this website and read some great articles. It really help to motivate me as I’m newbie and I hope to make some money from adsense in 2013.

  • http://www.smartincomepassword.com OKECHUKWU AGUOCHA

    Dear PAT, i wish to say a HAPPY NEW YEAR to you and your entire household. May the LORD GOD ALMIGHTY continue to bless you as you remain transparently open to all of your friends and fans about your successes and shortfalls. I am greatly inspired by what you wrote and what you are doing currently. i wrote a book last year and this year i intend to write 3 to 6 books b4 the end of 2013 with the help of GOD, 3 ON ONLINE & OFFLINEBUSINESSES, TWO ON RELATIONSHIPS AMONG SINGLES N EVEN COUPLES, AND ONE ON PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT.
    Whats your advice, do i reduce the number or do i work on that goal?
    Which way is your best wAy of making money online?

  • http://www.creatinemonohydratetips.com Atanas

    Hi Pat. Great post again and very inreresting reports from you. I am sorry to read that your purchased golf site was hitted by the EMD update. Before an year i started my own niche site and by following your steps i reach the 1st page (#3 position) for my main keyword phrase and 1st page for most of my second keywords/phrases. I did start to recieve quite a good traffic but in the end of september my niche site was hitted by the EMD… I did add more content , really hq content, more SEO, more social signals from G+ and even throu my rank stays down. Only in Yahoo and Bing its is still the same , but the traffic from both is just 1/10 of what was from Google. So, i got question – Did you think there is any cure for this EMD update or i should just buy some old domain and install on it a fresh new copy of WP and migrate my articles from the current to the newest one, ofc without redirect the old domain… Interesting to read your opinion…

    Regards
    Atanas

  • http://www.cbkdirect.com Brad

    Hi Pat,
    Really enjoy your site and learn something new every time I visit.
    A quick question, you mentioned that you are scrapping your book on Niche Sites. I’m assuming it has to do with how Google indexes sites. How does this affect Joseph Archibald Backlinking strategy? I have been using it and it seems to produce results.
    Thanks in advance

  • http://www.thelifeinsuranceinsider.com/ Brian

    I lean so much every time I read your posts. Thanks Pat!

  • http://sarkarinaukris.org Krunal

    Hi Pat first of all happy new year to You and Your family.God bless you.I’m glad you highlight the importance of unique & high quality content & importance of traffic..

  • http://mbchange.de Maximilian

    Awesome Artikel like ever. Thanks its awesome.
    Cant wait to start…
    Best wishes from Germany
    Max

  • http://www.savingtoinvest.com/ Andy

    Very insightful post and thanks for sharing a “failure.” So even top web guys like yourself can fail – keeping it real.

    Google’s updates have been the bane of a lot of us, including myself. The challenge is also finding unqiue content because it seems that all the evergreen stuff has been covered and only time sensitive stuff is new (but offcourse not evergreen!)

  • http://www.autoprofitincome.com Greg Jeffries

    Thanks for your post and results Pat.

    Looking forward to a successful and prosperous 2013!

  • http://www.hughculver.com Hugh Culver

    Hi Pat,

    This was a fun post to read. I really appreciate how you “lift the Kimono” and let us in on the up’s and down’s of your on line life. I added a CD and DVD box set to my book this year and was able to completely pay off the production costs in two teleseminars. I also added $130K to my gross this year with just 3 events.
    So, I’m a big believer in setting your sights big and taking some bold steps.
    Along the way I have been soaking up all the tips I can and you are now on my top 5 list of best resources.

    Thanks and here’s to a great year!

    PS the interview with Ferris was packed with good juice for anyone’s thinking and business success.

  • http://www.webofincome.com The Rookie

    Have to believe that the golf site has some potential. What was or is your bounce rate. I seriously think or at least if I was google I would weight bounce rate higher for exact match domains. No offense but the golf site seems to me that it would have a higher bounce rate. Which in some aspects makes sense to get people to click ads. But if I was searching for golf tips I would get to that site and bounce. Just doesn’t seem to fit the mold. It even has decent content for that niche.

    On the other hand all of your other sites bring people in. Your bounce rate is probably low in comparison. This is just a guess but Id love to hear your thoughts and see what your bounce rate actually is in comparison between your sites.
    Plus the lack of updated content etc. S

  • http://www.webofincome.com The Rookie

    Excuse the jumping around in that last message. I wasn’t paying much attention and then had to take take off so I just sent it.

    The golf site has good content, it just isn’t as appealing as all your other stuff, so I think its bounce rate is higher. With the new updates affecting people the way they have I am making a guess that bounce rate is effecting sites rankings, even the ones with decent content like your golf site.

    I have a feeling that google is placing more weight on bounce rate especially for exact match domains.

    I was curious if you have checked analytics for a comparison between sites with low bounce rates and how they have been affected verse your sites with high bounce rates. (all other things being close to equal)

  • http://www.zzneo.pl Teresa

    Hi,
    Very interesting and totally incompehensible story about golf’s website. As far as I know golf is very popular in USA. So, why nobody hadn’t made any good blog about that for so long ?
    T.

  • http://backlinko.com/ Brian @ Backlinko

    Thanks for sharing 2012′s lessons with us.

    Good stuff as always.

    Keep rocking and rolling Pat.

  • http://www.languageninjas.com/ Jade

    Thanks for this post it was very inspiring

  • http://www.manifestincome.com Ryan Eisenhower (Manifest Income)

    I like how your post goes over some of your failures… it’s such a vital part of what it truly takes to be a successful entrepreneur. You are going to fail and you are going to have to dust off and get back up if you want to stay in this game. The challenges that lie ahead in the internet marketing landscape can be overwhelming at times, but your transparency and perseverance is truly inspiring Pat, and I know it will help many people in the new year keep pushing forward.

  • http://www.watchbusy.com titaniumcalfskin band watches fake

    This was a fun post to read. I really appreciate how you “lift the Kimono” and let us in on the up’s and down’s of your on line life. I added a CD and DVD box set to my book this year and was able to completely pay off the production costs in two teleseminars. I also added $130K to my gross this year with just 3 events.
    So, I’m a big believer in setting your sights big and taking some bold steps.
    Along the way I have been soaking up all the tips I can and you are now on my top 5 list of best resources.

  • http://www.warriorforum.com/warrior-forum-classified-ads/735868-full-review-magic-submitter-alexander-krulik.html Magic Submitter

    This is only the beginning Pat!

    SPI only seems to be getting more and more popular every time I visit it!

  • http://www.meublesalledebainbois.info/ Meuble salle de bain bois

    I like how your post goes over some of your failures… it’s such a vital part of what it truly takes to be a successful entrepreneur. You are going to fail and you are going to have to dust off and get back up if you want to stay in this game. The challenges that lie ahead in the internet marketing landscape can be overwhelming at times, but your transparency and perseverance is truly inspiring Pat, and I know it will help many people in the new year keep pushing forward.

  • Kathi Tevlin

    Thanks so much for a wonderful year of learning Pat! I am finally near launch for several things and I owe much of my inspiration and mentoring to you. I wish you all the best for 2013 and look forward to being along for the ride wherever your adventures take you.

  • http://www.SecretsofTexasBluesGuitar.com Eric Beaty

    Hey, Pat. Glad to see you’re branching out and writing a book. You’ve definitely got two or three in you! I’m just writing to tell you about http://www.NaNoWriMo.org. It’s based on National Novel Writing Month, which occurs each November. The site is dedicated to helping new/experienced authors begin and — most importantly — complete their work.

    The site is mainly active during November, but there are tons of encouraging and motivating articles to give you that extra nudge when you feel you’re hitting a plateau or just plain shutting down. The goal is 50,000 words in the month and they have tools to help you track your word count per day. It’s totally free and a great way to keep the ball rolling.

    Good success on your book and here’s to an even better new year!

  • http://www.blogillitis.com/home/howtonameyourblog Silas Nko

    I’m not ready to purchase a website just yet since i decided to take up the challenge of creating my own niche site. i have a feeling I’m not going at it the right way however I’m hanging in there. i had the mentality that buying a website with online history would make the job easier but you have made me think twice for when the time comes.

  • http://ocalundan.info Orlando

    That’s very inspiring Pat. Actually, one of the lessons I learned like you is that keep writing relevant contents and traffic will just flow. Of course never disregard the top key words the people are searching specially if you assess that these key words can survive generations. There come a time where all you have to do is watch your traffic grow because you have properly invested by writing good contents.

    Congratulations to you!

  • http://www.edwardglassman.com Edward Glassman

    Pat,

    Looks like you had a great year and influenced a TON of people. I can only hope to do 1/2 as good as you in 2013. Good luck this year and all the best.

    Best,

    Edward

  • http://wholesalinghouses101.com/ Mike Nelson

    Hey Pat,

    Just wanted to wish you and your family a Happy New Year! You have inspired me quite a lot since I first came upon your site. My blog is all about Wholesale Real Estate, far off from your niche but I refer to your stuff quite a great deal. I’m not only picking up tips to help me with ranking my site but the most important lesson I’ve learned from you is your approach, your transparency, your honesty and how you regard your audience. Eversince I’ve been following SPI, I think I’ve more or less learned to create new materials for my blog, incorporating the style I’ve picked up from you. And it does my site very well. Another important lesson I’ve learned from you also, is how to make my audience feel like what I’m after is to help them out as beginners since I didn’t have that much resources when I myself was starting out.

    Just want to say Thank You for what you bring to bloggers and business people like me. There are plenty of blogs and sites these days but it’s rare to find something like SPI where you can sense the sincerity of your followers’ support for you, the blogger, and vice versa.

    More power and I hope more people come to see how SPI and your other sites can help them in many ways.

  • http://www.lifestylertreadmill.info Rex

    You are really an honest person Pat and definitely has a genuine heart to help others. You are great!

  • http://www.brettb.com/ Brett

    Hi Pat,

    The traffic for your purchased site looks much the same as some of my niche sites. Again, they lost traffic for the bigger search volume terms.

    I’d take issue with your security guard site escaping because of unique content. The content is OK, but it is at the end of the day just a niche site.

    I’d say that the site is still ranking well because of Smart Passive Income, and all the people (like me) who keep typing in “security guard training” into the Big G then visiting your site (and spending a lot of time on there figuring how it makes so much cash). Direct type in’s of site names are a massive clue for Google when it comes to ranking a site at #1.

  • http://www.wpqueen.com Leanne King

    Love the review on the golfing website purchase and interesting to see how a quick conversion to WP can change the figures (albeit temporarily). The problem with buying a site that has not earnt any $ is that you are essentially just buying potential. The fact that you could see the potential and profit from it is awesome in itself. Look forward to more updates.

  • http://www.thetopblogger.com Taswir Haider

    Thanks for sharing your experience. You have done a lot of great things in past year. This will obviously help a newbie to learn some good experience.

  • http://www.nohives.com Shinzow Hives

    Hi Pat,

    Great advice, as always.

    Thanks for sharing.

  • https://plus.google.com/u/0/117679282400358881813/about/p/pub Rejina

    Hi Pat,

    When the whole “niche thing” became hot I decided to purchase an existing niche website. My plan was to monetize the wordpress site through google ads. It didn’t take because
    1) the website I purchased targets a very broad topic which i know defeats the purpose of creating a niche..i was having trouble ranking my main keywords as the competition was impossibly high (i didn’t realize this until it was too late)
    2) it was a boring topic which I can’t relate to, and
    3) after tweaking the site a little and adding more content to it, i didn’t know what to do next.

    I think the problem was that I was over-excited with my project that I went through without planning everything carefully first. I didn’t know you exist until a year later, I could’ve picked tips on how to identify a niche. You see, i didn’t know that I have to do some keywords research , competition analysis and those things that you need to do pre-niche creation. So yeah, my purchase was a total blunder..learned my lesson now. :)

  • http://www.TalkingGolfOnline.com Troy Vayanos

    Hi Pat,

    Thanks for your post and sharing your results. I’ve recently subscribed and look forward to more great posts in 2013.

    I write my own golf blog and would love to help you out and contribute a couple of free posts for your golf website. I have numerous ideas that I will be posting on my blog but would love to share with your audience as well.

    Look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Troy

  • http://www.cloud65.com Online Income

    If you think Bryan`s story is exceptional,, last week mom in law earnt $5927 just sitting there a 40 hours month from their apartment and their buddy’s mother-in-law`s neighbour has been doing this for five months and brought home over $5927 parttime from a computer. follow the advice from this web-site, http://www.Cloud65.com

  • NJ

    Thank you for your honesty and integrity. You remind me (and us) that success is predominantly the by-product of providing true quality to our visitors.

    Those who are in it for a quick buck attempting to ‘game’ search engines will ultimately fall short … and blame Google.

  • M.

    nice review, thanks

  • http://thetwoweeknoticeproject.com/about Jim Pestke

    It says a lot about a man who can admit his mistakes. Owning up to a poor decision/executive only further proves that you’re a man of your word and that you value honesty with your readers. It doesn’t go un-noticed, kudo’s to you, Pat Flynn.

  • http://cheap-garden-sheds.com Ryan

    An inspiring year indeed. Thanks for sharing everything you know and giving me the push I need.

  • http://hqview-wallpapers.blogspot.com Syed Qamer

    Vnice Post Keep it up
    Wallpapers